Give Me Success and Show Kindness to My Master

Abraham’s servant was sent on what appeared to be an impossible task: bring back a wife from Abraham’s original land (his father’s house) for his son Isaac. The servant believed that even if he found a willing wife for Isaac, how could he convince her to leave her home for Canaan? The interesting thing is what he did with that doubt – he prayed.

Then he said, O Lord God of my master Abraham, please give me success this day, and show kindness to my master Abraham. Now let it be that the young woman to whom I say, Please let down your pitcher that I may drink, and she says, Drink, and I will also give your camels a drink let her be the one You have appointed for Your servant Isaac. And by this I will know that You have shown kindness to my master. (Genesis 24:12, 14 NKJV)

Before he had even finished speaking the prayer, the beautiful Rebekah comes out to get water from the well. The servant was in awe at Rebekah and that the Lord would have answered his prayers and made this trip so successful. He almost didn’t believe as it was happening in front of him.

Then the man bowed down his head and worshiped the Lord. And he said, Blessed be the Lord God of my master Abraham, who has not forsaken His mercy and His truth toward my master. As for me, being on the way, the Lord led me to the house of my masters brethren. (Genesis 24:26, 27 NKJV)

I believe the important thing to take from this is that Abraham’s servant had a promise from God. God keeps his promises in mighty ways. It’s His promises that give us hope and faith; specifically when he says something to us about what is to come.

But he said to me, The Lord, before whom I walk, will send His angel with you and prosper your way; and you shall take a wife for my son from my family and from my fathers house. (Genesis 24:40 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

