The Lord, His People’s Avenger

As I read through Psalm 35 today, I could not help but think of the Lord as a real life Avenger. Superheros continue to be very popular today. I believe that most of them are popular because they fight for a cause, or for the people they are saving, against all odds.

Reading through Psalm 35 paints a picture of the Lord in this way – fighting for His people against all odds. The tone of this prayer can teach us something about belonging to the Lord with all of our heart, soul, mind and spirit.

Plead my cause, O Lord, with those who strive with me;
Fight against those who fight against me.
Take hold of shield and buckler,
And stand up for my help.
Also draw out the spear,
And stop those who pursue me.
Say to my soul,
“I am your salvation.” Psalm 35:1-3 NKJV

Imagine the Lord with a shield to cover the body in one hand and a buckler in the other to deflect random arrows. Then, He grabs the spear to stop those pursuing after you. This paints a picture of a real life Avenger.

There are many things that we may need delivered from: thoughts/fears, mockers, plunderers, death, past sins, etc. In my life, it has helped give me confidence to think of the Lord as this Psalm depicts. If we give Him our life, He fights on our behalf where we are weak. I know that I need Him because He is perfect, strong and benevolent. When I am stuck, from fear or weakness, I think of Him and who He is. He is the one that gives me strength. It is humility before the Lord that can keep our heart aligned with His. In the next verses, we see how David responded.

But as for me, when they were sick,
My clothing was sackcloth;
I humbled myself with fasting;
And my prayer would return to my own heart.
I paced about as though he were my friend or brother;
I bowed down heavily, as one who mourns for his mother. Psalm 35:13-14 NKJV

David calls upon His avenger, the Lord.

Lord, how long will You look on?
Rescue me from their destructions,
My precious life from the lions.
I will give You thanks in the great assembly;
I will praise You among many people.
Let them not rejoice over me who are wrongfully my enemies;
Nor let them wink with the eye who hate me without a cause. Psalm 35:17-19

Leave a Reply

